Our history

1990: The Francofolies of La Rochelle took place in Blagoevgrad, which for two years make the city the third capital after La Rochelle itself, and Montreal, in Canada, where the festival is organized. Full of enthusiasm and filled with the desire to help the local organization of the festival, a group of French-speaking people from very different backgrounds create the first Franco-Bulgarian association. The idea of ​​an Alliançe Francaise is also in the air. The creation of the association is made possible after the official arrival in 1991 of the first general delegate of the Alliance Française of Paris in Bulgaria, Mr. Nicolas Lefilleul.

1992: The Constituent Assembly of the Alliance Française Association of Blagoevgrad is a fact.

1993: The Blagoevgrad City Council assigns it premises in the center of the former Varosha district and, two months later, the Alliance Française of Paris, represented by its General Secretary  Mr. Jean Harzic, recognizes the new-born association as part of its network in Bulgaria. At the official ceremony in Varosha, the Alliance Française de Blagoevgrad is declared the most beautiful house among the alliances in Europe.

1993-2005: The Association is developing its statuary activities which include: educational activity – teaching and spreading of the French language; cultural activity – propagation of French culture and civilization; international activity – promotion of Bulgarian culture in France, deepening and broadening Bulgarian-French contacts in the cultural and business fields, including with the countries of the French-speaking community.

Since its creation, the association has organized dozens of shows, concerts, exhibitions, conferences …. Annual competitions on the French language and contemporary France effectively complement the educational process of AF students.
The theater troupe with the AF takes part in almost all editions of the festival of French-language school theater “Jean-Louis Barrault” in Bulgaria, twice in festivals in Romania and once in Austria! A very good start marked the children’s choir “Rossignol” which, in two years, has successfully created a repertoire of French and Bulgarian songs. Two exhibitions of the “Robert Doisneaux” photo club have also been put in plqce and inaugurated.

Since 2005: The Association continues to develop, welcoming several trainees who, thanks to their motivation and enthusiasm, work for the promotion of the French language in Blagoevgrad through the cultural events they organize – concerts, dance shows, various thematic workshops …

Today, with its many years of experience, the Alliance Française of Blagoevgrad feels better able to maintain its position as a European center for educational, cultural and informative purposes, widely open to the inhabitants of the city and region and especially to its young people who have the opportunity to learn and / or perfect their knowledge of a language as rich and ever modern, even more so today, in its status as legal language of the European Union.

Notre histoire

1990: A Blagoevgrad ont lieu les Francofolies de La Rochelle qui, pour deux ans, font de la ville la troisième capitale après La Rochelle elle-même, et Montréal, au Canada, où le festival est organisé. Pris d’enthousiasme et de désir d’aider l’organisation locale du festival, un groupe de francophones d’horizons très divers créent la première association franco-bulgare. L’idée d’une alliance française est aussi dans l’air. La création de l’association est rendue possible après l’arrivée officielle en 1991 du premier délégué général de l’Alliance Française de Paris en Bulgarie, M. Nicolas Lefilleul.

1992: L’assemblée constitutive de l’association Alliance Française de Blagoevgrad est un fait.

1993: La Mairie de Blagoevgrad lui attribue des locaux au centre de l’ancien quartier Varosha et, deux mois plus tard, l’Alliance Française de Paris, représentée par son Secrétaire général M. Jean Harzic, reconnaît l’association nouvelle-née comme faisant partie de son réseau en Bulgarie. Lors de la cérémonie officielle à Varosha, la maison Alliance Française de Blagoevgrad est déclarée la plus jolie maison parmi les alliances en Europe.

1993-2005 : L’Association se développe réalisant ses activités statuaires qui sont notamment : l’activité éducative – enseignement et diffusion de la langue française; l’activité culturelle – propagation de la culture et de la civilisation française; l’activité internationale – promotion de la culture bulgare en France, approfondissement et élargissement des contacts bulgares-français dans le domaine culturel et celui des affaires y compris avec les pays de la communauté francophone.

Depuis sa création, l’association a organisé des dizaines de spectacles, concerts, expositions, conférences…. Des concours annuels portant sur la langue française et la France contemporaine complètent efficacement le processus éducatif des étudiants de l’AF.
La troupe de théâtre auprès de l’AF prend part à presque toutes les éditions du festival du théâtre francophone scolaire « Jean-Louis Barrault » en Bulgarie, deux fois aux festivals en Roumanie et une fois en Autriche! Un très bon début a marqué la chorale d’enfants « Rossignol » qui, en deux ans, a créé avec succès un répertoire de chants français et bulgares. On a également inauguré et réalisé deux expositions du club photo « Robert Doisneaux ».

Depuis 2005 : L’Association continue à se développer, en accueillant plusieurs stagiaires qui, grâce à leur motivation et enthousiasme, œuvrent pour la promotion de la langue Française à Blagoevgrad à travers les manifestations culturelles qu’ils organisent – concerts, spectacles de danse, divers ateliers thématiques…

Aujourd’hui, riche de ses plusieurs années d’expérience, l’Alliance Française de Blagoevgrad se sent plus en mesure de maintenir sa position de centre européen à vocation éducative, culturelle et informative, largement ouvert aux habitants de la ville et de la région et surtout à ses jeunes gens qui y ont la possibilité d’apprendre et/ou de parfaire leurs connaissances d’une langue aussi riche et toujours moderne, encore plus aujourd’hui, dans son statut de langue juridique de l’Union européenne.